read * hear * say * see * eat {4}

read hear say see eat - heirloom mothering
5-Minute Meditation via Real Simple

Read

    • Kudos to the author of the winning Payton Prize essay on The Rumpus, “Out of the Swollen Sea.” It’s an exercise in successful use of imagery.
    • An essay on Full Grown People that began with a simple haircut appointment is unexpectedly poignant.
    • Terry Ward Goodman’s essay, Dog Days in Brain, Child is searingly honest.
    • Here’s your funny for the week: If You Give a Dude a Kale Chip, via The New Yorker.
    • “The night scene is suffused by a creeping coldness that sinks into your bones in a rush, the kind you only get on a winter night in Massachusetts, in a house like this…” a paramedic’s story about dementia on WBUR’s Cognescenti blog.
    • I loved basketball player Larry Sanders (i.e. not the Gary Shandling character) honest account of why he quit. The journalist summarized his article with these words: “Whether we are athletes or lawyers or writers or accountants or steel workers, we are whole people, complex and varied, and often a tangle of contradictions. And life can be a struggle.”
    • Oh and then there was lil’ ol’ me shouting into the endless winter abyss with my essay on this blog, Because I Could Not Stop for Snow.

Hear

  • If, like me, you need to be lifted up in this dreary month, check out the story about Henry & Jane on Strangers. Henry had a brain-stem stroke at 40 years old but still has a great sense of humor, and his wife Jane, an incredible person, takes care of him and their four kids.
  • After what I would call a dry month, This American Life delivered a whammy, Except For That One Thing. (After Sophia, the Man Who Invented the Calendar, and the Tortoise/Hare, Julie and the Warlord was my 4th favorite story from BJ Novak’s book One More Thing. I have nothing special to add to Book Riot’s stellar review—except that I disagree about the JC Audetat story, I just didn’t care for it).
  • Going back through the TAL archives, I listened to this short story about Santa while I shoveled the driveway, and thusly I learned shoveling and laughing are tough to do simultaneously.
  • Grace Lee Boggs‘ story on the Moth was excellent. I have also gone back and listened a few more times to this man’s story about his mother on The Moth. It’s evokes such strong emotions. I’m in awe of the power of his words.
  • If you’re a Joni Mitchell fan, go listen to “Both Sides, Now” again and then read the lyrics. I am not a crier, but they make me ache in the way only really good writing does.

Say

  • I am so psyched to tell you about this next event, which could fall under “Hear” too: I am helping put on a FREE quarterly reading series, Arlington Author Salon. If you’re local to the Greater Boston/Metro West area, join me at Arlington’s Kickstand Cafe on April 1st (no fooling!) at 7:30pm to listen to three local authors read their historical fiction. I hope you’ll come, and invite your friends!

See

  • Did y’all watch the Great British Baking Show on PBS? I have never been so in love with reality television. There is something very special about the way Brits do TV. I’ll leave it at that so you can go watch. (One more fun fact: The host with glasses and cropped chestnut hair was also the host of The Supersizers Go, a British reality TV show about food that I’m happy to say you can now watch for free on Hulu. Nate, my Dad, and I watched it in England just after I had just given birth the first time. I guess what I’m saying is I will always hold a special place in my heart for that country and their television programming).

Eat

  • Now I finally know what I’ll do with the random dried apricots and couscous in my pantry. Ultimate winter coucous! Gosh, I love the way Molly writes. She is my food blogging soulmate, which I know is a bold thing to say since you might feel the same, but you can’t have her, she’s mine.
6 thoughts on “read * hear * say * see * eat {4}

  1. I really look forward to these lists! And I am so very excited to hear about the Arlington Author Salon!!! I will spread the word about it. I so wish I could make that day/time but it’s a tough one for me to get to. Maybe someday you’ll have one on a weekend–I’d love to go!

  2. So cool that you’re doing that local show. I’m in a local one (not LTYM–though did that a few years ago). What I’m in sounds more like what you’ve planned and I’m so excited. That local connection and experience is priceless.

    1. Nina, I completely agree with you; the local connection is what I’m after. I love the idea that after reading or listening, I get to swap stories about what’s happening around us that will feed our next writing ventures.

Leave a Reply

